(866) 431-AMER [2637]

Long Beach Underage DUI Defense Lawyer

Juvenile Underage Drunk Driving

California law cracks down hard on anyone convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol (DUI). If you have been charged with an underage DUI, meaning that you were found to be driving drunk and younger than 21 years old, the charges you face will be even more serious. If convicted, your entire life can be changed.

Facing an underage DUI charge is intimidating for any California resident. The claims made by police and prosecuting attorneys can make it seem as though there is no hope for you in your case. But there is a chance for you to avoid being found guilty.

The legal team at The Amer Law Firm has fought back against countless drunk driving charges and can find success in your case as well. With the help of underage DUI defense lawyer Al Amer, you can stop devastating charges in their tracks. To learn more through a free consultation on your case, call (866) 431-2637 today.

What are California's Underage Drunk Driving Laws?

California sets a legal limit of 0.08% blood alcohol content (BAC) for drivers aged 21 and older. However, as it is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to consume alcohol, underage drivers cannot have a BAC limit greater than 0.01%. If a police officer's BAC test finds that you exceed this limit while operating a motor vehicle, you can be charged with underage drunk driving.

There are several different laws that can apply to an underage DUI, each depending on your BAC and resulting in different penalties. These laws depend on law enforcement officials proving that you drove with alcohol in your system, usually through field sobriety tests and BAC tests, such as the breathalyzer. These are used as evidence to arrest you and press charges in court against you for violating the law.

What are the Penalties for an Underage DUI?

Under California's Zero Tolerance Law, found in California Vehicle Code 23136, being found guilty of driving with a BAC greater than 0.01% can result in a one-year driver's license suspension or a one-year delay in receiving a driver's license if you do not have one yet.

Under California Vehicle Code 23140, an underage DUI with a BAC between 0.05% and 0.07% is deemed an infraction. A first-time conviction can be punished with a $100 fine, one-year loss of license, a minimum three-month alcohol program, and possibly a "Youthful Drunk Driving Visitation Program." A second conviction brings a $200 fine and a third conviction brings a $300 fine.

Under California Vehicle Code 23152, an underage DUI with a BAC of 0.08% or greater can be subjected to a misdemeanor charge. Because this is a more severe charge, the penalties are greatly increased. A conviction can include $390 to $1,000 in fines, one year in county jail, three to five years of probation, mandatory alcohol education, and a six-month license suspension.

It is also illegal to refuse a BAC test, as California's implied consent law means that, as a licensed driver, you have already agreed to submit to a test provided by law enforcement. Refusing to submit to a test means that you can automatically have your driver's license taken away and suspended.

Fighting Against Your Underage DUI Charge

During the course of being arrested and formally charged with underage drunk driving, police will make it seem as though there is no hope in fighting back against your charges. But every defendant has the chance to have his or her charges reduced or completely dismissed through evidence and eye witness testimony that refutes the claims of police.

Police mistakes can either lead to a wrongful charge or compromise the evidence that they are using against you. A charge does not automatically mean you will lose your license. There are alternative penalties possible, but only an experienced attorney will know which is best for you and how you can receive them.

Juvenile DUI defense attorney Al Amer and the legal team at The Amer Law Firm are ready to defend you from the serious charges that you are facing. If you or a loved one has been accused of a drunk driving as a minor, do not wait to get in touch with us by calling (866) 431-2637. With our help, you can prevent devastating penalties from changing your life for years to come.

Juvenile Resource Center

"Al definitely knows how to achieve results that will go far beyond your expectations."
- Former Client

California Criminal Law Explained...
Crimes
A-Z
Appeals Assault Battery Crimes by Code Section Bench Warrants DMV
Hearings
Domestic Violence Drug
Offenses
DUI Defense Expungements Federal
Crimes
Hit & Run Juvenile Crimes Manslaughter Probation Violations Sex Crimes Theft Crimes Three Strikes Crimes White Collar Crimes

Memberships

Disclaimer & Copyright

Disclaimer: The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this or associated pages, documents, comments, answers, emails, or other communications should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information on this website is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing of this information does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship. Please contact a criminal lawyer at our law firm for information regarding your particular case. This website is not intended to solicit clients outside the State of California.

Copyright ©2018 - The Amer Law Firm - Serving Long Beach, Los Angeles, Santa Monica, Manhattan Beach, and Hermosa Beach - All rights reserved.

Website & Internet Marketing by SLS Consulting | Terms | Anti-spam Policy | Sitemap

Connect with Us

The Amer Law Firm
110 W. Ocean Blvd., Suite 15
Long Beach, CA 90802
(562) 489-9454
(866) 431-2637

Payment Options

Apply for Financing